I wrote a good omelet…

I wrote a good omelet…and ate a hot poem…
after loving you

Buttoned my car…and drove my coat home…in the
rain…
after loving you

I goed on red…and stopped on green….floating
somewhere in between…
being here and being there…
after loving you

I rolled my bed…turned down my hair…slightly
confused but…I don’t care…
Laid out my teeth…and gargled my gown…then I stood
…and laid me down…
to sleep…
after loving you

— Nikki Giovanni

Simple combination of words, yet startling depth. Came across this beautiful piece on a friend’s page.Β  Resolve to start exploring the world of poetry. So much has been missed all these years!

9 thoughts on “I wrote a good omelet…

    • Ah ! u must have been a couple of years senior i guess – i was there till 2001, left after tenth. And as I was typing that, I realized – it s been 8 years ! awfully long back it seems now ! πŸ™‚
      Thanks for visiting! πŸ™‚

  1. sakka opening for a post!
    it was idyllic like the rk narayana tales..

    as for cricket,and ur bro bashing ur ignorance , i am happy for him! i was filling his shoes for quite a while! LOL! πŸ˜€

    on ur defense, u can say to the lil fella, “anubavicha podhum , araya theveya illa!” πŸ˜›

    on this note : one more thing wud be :no matter , how funky , or intelligent mandira
    talks cricket, i jus feel sad for her πŸ™‚

    if u can learn java, u can master nuances of cricket too, just try and surprise ur bro , wud be fun!

    • I suppose all these comments are for the next post πŸ™‚
      And I fail to understand why you mentioned Mandira Bedi ! If you are hinting at drawing a parallel, me is HIGHLY offended ! 😐

  2. well yea , i told u na, i read all posts and wrote all comments together at one place, lazy me!

    hmmm,i ve seen many girls who vie to understand and appreciate the game, the purpose being, to gel better with the cric crazy other half of the society.

    inspite of their sound knowlede abt “gully,silly point, long on etc”, they lack on something , that i think , would be genuine zest!

    well wont compare u with mandira, on any other dimension…..!

    peace!:)

Leave a Reply

